It was a dazzling clash between the men’s and women’s selected pairs sides at Tzaneen Bowls Club on Saturday and Sunday the 8th and 9th of October.

In the Men’s Pairs there were nine teams split up into three groups of three pairs per group. The top team from each group went through to the semi-final. The pair that had the best aggregate going straight to the final round were Theo Wolmarans and Bennie Mundell.

On Sunday, Wolmarans and Mundell, took on Ally Morrison and Jorge Freitas in the final round. It was eventually the pair of Wolmarans and Mundell who had the upper hand and went on to clinch the 2022 Tzaneen Bowls Men’s Pairs title.

The women’s division saw five teams playing in a round-robin format against one another. All five the teams won two games each. The winners were determined by the best aggregate score over the two days of competition.

The final score proved to be quite a tight affair between the teams, but it was eventually Terry Morgan and Adriana Jacobs who topped the score sheet to be crowned as the 2022 Women’s Pairs champs.

With the aggregate scores being so close, the runners-up position ended in a tie with Sue Morrison and teammate Marushca Swiglaar sharing the spot with Elsje Beyer and Benita Lepart.