Danielle Strydom from the Insect Science team on her way to win the female solo category in the Race section of the Magoeba Trek, Photo: Roelof de Jonge

After three days of intense racing through the beautiful scenery of Magoebaskloof, the mountain bike pair of Philip Buys and Pieter du Toit from the PYGA Euro Steel team, rode a fine race to win the 2021 edition of the Magoeba Trek Mountain Bike race.

Herman Fourie and Gunther Katzke. Photo: Supplied

This MTB race was held from the 17th to the 19th of September (last weekend) with the start and finish line as well as the base camp for the participants situated at Stanford Lake College. Buys and du Toit managed to fend off challenges from some of the country’s best mountain bike riders to finish in a time 07:55.06. They were pressured all the way by the hard charging pair of Keagan Bontekoning and CP van Wyk of the Insect Science MTB Team.

Gerhard Booysen, owner and team member of the Insect Science MTB Team, is here on his way to complete his run in this year’s Magoeba Trek. Photo: Roelof de Jonge

The Insect Science riders eventually crossed the finish line in a total time of 08:07.36. Buys and du Toit topped the time sheet after Friday’s first leg of the trek which took the riders along some fast-flowing trials around Dap Naudé Dam and the Woodbush forest reserve. Each of the day’s race stages consisted of a touch over 70km. The distances for the trial division riders were about 40km per day.

The mixed team of Corrie Bezuidenhout and Clive Garrett raced in the mixed category of the Trail division. Photo: Roelof de Jonge

On the second day the Haenertsburg and Iron Crown stage sorted the real riders from the rest. Here the mountain bikers had to work their way up the infamous Rocky Horror climb to reach the summit of the renowned Iron Crown Mountain, which is more than 2 100 metres above sea level.

Louisette van Helsdingen was another female riders who competed in the Trail section where she raced in the Mixed category. Photo: Roelof de Jonge

Buys and du Toit once again headed the time sheets ahead of Bontekoning and van Wyk, having to negotiate an array of river crossings along the tricky sections that included a fearsome downhill stretch.

Igna de Villiers and teammate Burger Bester took part in the men’s team division of the Magoeba Trek’s Race category. Photo: Roelof de Jonge

On the third and final day, riders took on the Stanford Lake and Ebenezer Dam stage. The single-track route provided riders with some serious climbs along the edge of this dam. This fast and fun stage saw Buys and du Toit stretch their lead ahead of Bontekoning and van Wyk, who were ready to pounce on any misfortunes of the front-runners.

Eddy Teixeira who raced in the Trail category is here on his way to finish the past weekend’s 2021 Magoeba Trek. Photo: Roelof de Jonge

Because of the ongoing Covid regulations, The Insect Mountain Bike Classic, which is a Limpopo Marathon MTB qualifying event, had to be incorporated into the Magoeba Trek race which was postponed numerous times. The Limpopo Classic formed part of the second stage of the Trek.

The first female team across the finish line was Theresa Ralph and Samantha Sanders from the Galileo Infinity SPOT team in a total time of 11 hours, two minutes and 24 seconds. The honour for the solo women category belonged to the Insect Science rider, Danielle Strydom. She completed the Magoeba Trek in a total time of 10 hours, 53 minutes and 18 seconds.

Dalene van Zyl competed in the Trail category of the Magoeba Trek and managed to successfully complete the three-day event. Photo: Roelof de Jonge

David Cook was the first solo men’s rider to conquer the mighty Magoeba Trek and it took him nine hours, five minutes and 43 seconds to finish. The 40km odd stages from the Trial division over the three days also provided plenty of action for the riders as well as for their supporters and spectators.

The Insect Science men’s team of Herman Fourie and Gunther Katzke showed their class by streaking ahead to win the men’s team category in a time of five hours, 22 minutes and 22 seconds. The Olia women’s team with riders Olivia Penfold and Lianke Fourie bagged the medals in the women’s team division with a winning time of seven hours, ten minutes and 29 seconds.

The local team comprising of Anke Rood and Jani Jordan from the Insect Chix team, followed the winners for the second podium spot. The winner of the solo men’s category for the 40km trial race was Dobri Stanisavljevic with John-Hendrik Muller who eventually settled for second place. Monique Fourie was the winner of the solo female category and posted an overall time of seven hours, 32 minutes and 32 seconds.