Lukas Motolla and James Morotoba.

The Tzaneen Open 2021 at Tzaneen Country Club on Saturday and Sunday the 27th and 28th of February, was the sixth open event in a row, to be played in the rain.

Jaco Linde, winner of the 2021 Tzaneen Open at Tzaneen Country Club. Photo: Supplied

This year’s Tzaneen Open was no exception as it is customary to play in the rain during the February fixture every year.

Zander du Toit. Photos: Roelof de Jonge

Nonetheless, some players were in their element with the mild, but wet under the foot conditions, although some golfers found it quite challenging, especially playing from the rough.

Tiger Morerwa.
Siswe Mbili.
Piet du Toit.

The leader board was quite interesting after the first round with Adam Milanzi from Polokwane taking the lead with one shot over par. Ruben Potgieter, an up-and-coming junior from Soutpansberg Golf Club, along with local Tzaneen player Louis Erasmus, was only one shot behind the leaders on two over par.

Leon Pieterse.

The defending champ and winner of the recent Soutpansberg Open in Louis Trichardt, Luan Steenkamp, was still within reach of the front leaders, a further two shots back with Jannie Bronkhorst and Andries Lombard, both from Polokwane Golf Club.

Jadrian Moolman.

The final round on Sunday started in light rain, but eventually, it turned out to be excellent weather conditions to challenge for the Tzaneen Open Championship. The Toshiba Cup Champion from Polokwane, Neil Rathmann, along with Luan Steenkamp and Polokwane junior player Jan-Hendrik Nieuwoudt all launched chal-lenges for the lead.

Jacques Smith.

The damp conditions however suited Polokwane Golf Club golfer, Jaco Linde, as he produced some great golf to enjoy a three-shot lead with nine holes to play. Things did not go quite his way on the last nine holes. He recorded a score of 77 shots in the first round and his 68 in the second round sealed the deal. But he showed some finesse with his put shots and a par save on the 18th hole secured a two-shot victory over the defending champion of 2020 and local lad, Steenkamp.

Gerhard Boshoff.

A further four shots back, tied for third place, were Adam Milanzi and Jan-Hendrik Nieuwoudt who scored seven shots over par. The Limpopo Golf Union management congratulated Tzaneen Country Club with a wonderful golf course, especially after all the rain of late.

Evert Bekker en Shaun Mouton.

The Messina Open 2021 that was due for the 6th and 7th of March had to be canceled due to all the rain damage on the course. The Groblersdal Open 2021 at Groblersdal Golf Club will be held on 27 and 28 March.

André Fourie.
Glen Wynne.
Eddie Schaap.

Final Results:

Overall gross winner – Jaco Linde (Polokwane GC)

Overall nett winner – Koos Meyer (Naboomspruit GC)

Overall mid-am gross winner – Adam Milanzi (Polokwane GC)

Overall senior gross winner – Glen Wynne (Polokwane GC)

A-division gross winner – Luan Steenkamp (Tzaneen CC)

A-division nett winner – HJ van Jaarsveld (Tzaneen CC)

B-division gross winner – Riaan du Plessis (Tzaneen CC)

B-division nett winner – Naphtaly Sedibe (Tzaneen CC)

Ladies division winner – Megan Bisset (Tzaneen CC).